Online Six Lokas Course Begins Oct. 26

Shenla-Odkar-smLigmincha Learning is pleased to offer a seven-week online course, “Transforming Our Emotions Through the Six Lokas,” from Oct. 26–Dec. 14, 2013. The course will give participants a thorough introduction to the Six Lokas practice of the Tibetan Bon Buddhist tradition.

At one time or another, each of us suffers strong emotions that throw us off balance, cause us to act in ways we later regret and make us lose touch with our true nature. Centuries ago the masters of the Bon lineage developed the meditations of the Six Lokas specifically to help us live our lives in a balanced and relaxed way.

The course includes original teachings by Tenzin Wangyal Rinpoche, founder and spiritual director of Ligmincha Institute. Rinpoche also leads guided meditations that focus on the root causes of our suffering: anger, greed, ignorance, jealousy, pride and laziness. Through each meditation, participants examine habitual patterns to be able to recognize, purify and transform them. The practices have a deep healing and transformative power, and are traditionally practiced at length as a preliminary to dzogchen contemplation.

In addition to video teachings and guided meditations, the course features readings, journal writing activities and weekly online discussions with classmates from around the world facilitated by John Jackson, director of the Chamma Ling Colorado retreat center.

The course is structured in seven parts, with one week devoted to each section. Learners can study at their own pace and have access to all materials as they are released, so it is easy to review earlier sections. Topics for each week include:
     1. Introduction to the Six Lokas
     2. The Hell Realms—Transforming Our Anger into Love
     3. The Hungry Ghost Realm—Transforming our Greed into Generosity
     4. The Animal Realm—Transforming Our Ignorance into Wisdom
     5. The Human Realm—Transforming Our Jealousy into Openness
     6. The Demigod Realm—Transforming Our Pride into Peacefulness
     7. The God Realm—Transforming Our Laziness into Compassion

Learn more about the course