Ligmincha Learning SIX LOKAS COURSE Begins July 7


Ligmincha Learning is pleased to offer an online course on “Transforming Our Emotions Through the Six Lokas” from July 7–August 16, 2017. The course will give participants a thorough introduction to the Six Lokas practices of the Tibetan Bon Buddhist tradition.

At one time or another, each of us suffers strong emotions that throw us off balance, cause us to act in ways that we latter regret and make us lose touch with our true nature. Centuries ago the masters of the Tibetan Bön lineage developed the meditations of the Six Lokas specifically to remedy this situation, to help us live our lives in a balance and relaxed way.

The meditations focus on the root causes of our suffering. Through each meditation we examine our habitual patterns so we may recognize them, then through the enlightened energy of the Buddhas to purify and transform us so that we and all other beings might not continue to suffer in this way. The practices have a deep healing and transformative power and are traditionally practiced at length as a preliminary to dzogchen contemplation.

In addition to an introduction, topics include:

  • The Hell Realms—Transforming Our Anger into Love
  • The Hungry Ghost Realm—Transforming Our Greed into Generosity
  • The Animal Realm—Transforming Our Ignorance into Wisdom
  • The Human Realm—Transforming Our Jealousy into Openness
  • The Demigod Realm—Transforming Our Pride into Peacefulness
  • The God Realm—Transforming Our Laziness into Compassion

Each section of the course includes a video of original teachings created by Tenzin Wangyal Rinpoche especially for this course, and guided meditation videos led by Rinpoche. The course also features meditation assignments designed for each section, and online discussions led by John Jackson, director of the Chamma Ling Colorado retreat center. Learners can study at their own pace and have access to all materials as they are released, so it is easy to review earlier sections.

Learn more